Images4Education. Week 3.

No matter what your teaching objectives might be, a class activity is always addressed to a certain group. Consequently, it’s usually difficult for me to design an activity when I’m on holidays.

Our task for week 3 was to create three slide shows using three different tools: Animoto, Slideshare and the slideshow in Big Huge Labs. As there were no students around to bring some inspiration, I decided to build a slideshow for me. Poetry was already in my mind when I read Sandburg meets Flickr, by David Jakes.  Poems and images go naturally together.

I like the brevity of Pound’s In a Station of the Metro. The brevity, the lively description and most of all the beauty he discovers in a scene which is, for me, quite ugly.

What I did was very simple: I replaced adjectives and nouns by images.

[clearspring_widget title=”Animoto.com” wid=”46928cc51133af17″ pid=”498b0976619e7ca1″ width=”432″ height=”240″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

Animoto is so easy to use, it gives you immediate satisfaction and the outcome is always attractive.

I also prepared a presentation and uploaded it to Slideshere. There I could include the photo credits. You can add a youtube video to slideshare presentations. That’s how I managed to include the Animoto show in the presentation. (The image quality is lost when you send your show to Youtube.)

Pound first published this poem in 1913, and I wondered if I could get some photos from The Commons. I thought it was great to see those pictures in the BigHugeLabs slideshow as the photo information appears as the slides play.

Here it is, you’ll have to follow the link: it’s not possible to embed a BigHugeLab show.

View slideshow

This last one was an interesting photo search. And it was then when I could place my hypothetical students. Digging into the past, not through history books, but through pictures showing everyday life.

6 Comments to “Images4Education. Week 3.”

  1. Hey teacher Gabriella,
    I haven’t talked to you in a while! Just wanted to tell you me and Prisci are very happy because we’ve made friends from a lot of countries, and wanted to thank u because you helped us to enter the Blogging Competition 🙂 THANKS.
    I remember when we first started…we nearly didn’t have comments, and now, we write a post and two hours later we have at least two comments. We’re happy, some of our posts have nearly 18 comments!
    We love to create discussions on the posts so we can also meet new people there…
    I also wanted to tell you we chat with Zawan. She’s a very nice girl, and we chat nearly everyday and she tells me about her life and that also helps us to improve our English.
    Thanks a lot! 🙂 Hope you’re OK,
    Stephie 🙂

    • Hi Stephi, it’s good to look back and see how things have improved, isn’t it?
      Go on making connections!
      Thanks for passing by and leaving such nice words.

  2. Hi teacher!
    It’s Renata
    I’ve made a blog like Stephie’s and Prisci’s and I’me very happy with it. I’ve made some friends from other countries and it’s great because I can have time and improve my English at the same time!
    I’ve started my english classes at AACI this monday but it’s boring because I have only 1 classmate!
    I hope someone else is coming to the class!
    I miss your classes with all my friends
    kisses
    reni

  3. Спасибо за статью. Очень помогла.

Leave a Reply

