A day in the life of a third world citizen

What a day today!

I started classes at school, woke up at six for the first time since December (except for a couple of days in February), met my students, oh, new paragraph.

The first group, 14 and 15 years old, inspiring group. Love at first sight. But that deserves its own post, not just its own paragraph.

Second group, a challenge.  Not now, please.

I forgot to say it’s been raining since I got up. The rain revealed a leak in my son’s bedroom!

Well, I left school, went to psychoanalysis session, that’s something we do here in Buenos Aires, came back home, worked on a project, chatted with Daniel, couldn’t talk, his mic? my headphones? his connection? my connection? his computer? my computer? this country? who knows?, electricity cut off. Yes, just like like. It was raining, I told you. When it rains I don’t know what it is that gets flooded and the electricity suddenly disappears. I cooked, candlelight. Romantic? No, undeveloped.

Clap, clap, electricity is back. I turn on my PC. Yes , no mobile, no laptop. A comment to moderate . An ex student, well, a student. She blogged with my class in 2007. She’s back. On her own.

I forget about the rain. About the leak. About the electricity. About living in the third world. I even forget about the things the institutions stubbornly deny.

Welcome, Renata .

(Ah, the title, should I have said consumer? Citizen is quite a dated word, I think.)

Update (a couple of seconds after posting and re reading). Mind you, I’ll not forget forever.

Tags:

12 Comments to “A day in the life of a third world citizen”

  1. Hi!
    Yeah , I am so happy about Renata 🙂 Her blog is so cool , and she is a great friend too!And sweet 🙂
    I have tagged you for something on the blog , check it out!
    How are you?
    Kisses!!

    • Yes, I saw you’ve tagged me (twice). I just need more extra time to do my homework, please.
      I’m very happy Renata is blogging too. And it’s great you and Stephi introduced her to your friends.

  2. Hi Gabriela,

    I also live in a third world country. We haven’t had any power cuts recently, but there are times when we have them regularly.

    I have had a look at Renata’s blog. It is really nice. Her favourite subject is English, so you are doing your job really well.

    I have four groups of students this semester. One of them is a challenge.

    Natasa

  3. thank you
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you

    THANKS!

    You’re great! thanks for doing this. When I read the post and the comments I totally blushed! I couldn’t stopped smiling!
    lol
    today, while I was revising my photos I found one of you I took with my celphone!
    i had totally forgotten about it!
    anyway, thanks again
    kisses
    reni

  4. A very funny post Gabriela although I don’t think your day was too funny for you. I visited Renata’s blog and her posts are great. You should be proud she continued blogging

    Saludos

    Eduardo

    • Thanks for your words, Eduardo, and for visiting Renata’s blog.
      Maybe I shouldn’t say this, but I’m proud of what she’s doing. She’s learning (and I’m sure not only English) by connecting with peers. That’s highly valuable. I hope some day the institutions see this value, up to know they’ve absolutely ignored it.

  5. Hi Gabriela,

    I grew up in Barbados, and it seemed the power would always go out at the most insensitive times… like after getting the needle to numb my mouth for a filling… I get the needle and then the dentist can’t run the drill… “See you tomorrow so we can do it again”:-(

    I think your reflection of ‘consumer’ rather than ‘citizen’ is insightful.

    You have a lot to be proud of and it is wonderful that you take the challenges in stride and that you see the positive influence you are making! 🙂

    Dave.

    • I don’t know how I would get the courage to go back to the dentist if that ever happened to me!
      Challenges won’t stop us! I always remember when you used to complain about your computer lab at school, and at the same time you shared the wonderful work your students were doing. I also remember you saying that once you’ve started there is no way back.

  6. I loved your post Gabriela, maybe because I share your third world citizenship status and the passion for being a 21st century teacher against all odds.

    Hugs from Rosario!

  7. What a long day!! We are still waiting for an update
    (perdoname pero te tenía que RETAR)

Leave a Reply

